'The best books, reviewed with insight and charm, but without compromise.'
- author Jackie French

Sunday 26 May 2013

Text Prize For Young Adult and Children's Writing 2013

On Wednesday, 29th May 2013, the winner of the Text Prize for Young Adult and Children’s Writing will be announced.

Open to published and unpublished Australian and New Zealand writers of all ages, in 2013 the Prize received a record 350 entries. From these submissions, four manuscripts, all by Australian women, have been shortlisted to compete for the AU$10,000 prize.

Waer by Meg Caddy
An intricate fantasy novel set in an imagined land of waerwolves, thieves and magic. Twenty-one-year-old Perth student and childcare worker Meg Caddy has been working on the novel since she was fourteen, and is following in the footsteps of her author father, David Caddy, who has published several books with Fremantle Press.

Lost Vegas by Jo Hegerty
A funny, heartwarming story for younger readers about a bullied boy and his second-hand, far-from-ideal dog, Vegas. Jo Hegerty is a Brisbane-based journalist, editor and blogger.

Elizabeth and Zenobia by Jessica Miller
Elizabeth and her imaginary friend Zenobia suddenly find themselves living in the haunted home of Elizabeth’s distant father, Witheringe House. Brisbane-based Jessica Miller has written a fantastically imagined story for 8- to 12-year-olds about all the different ways we can be haunted.

Flood Damage by Diana Sweeney
A timely novel for older readers, Flood Damage explores a young woman’s struggle to regain control of her life after a devastating flood claims the lives of her parents and sister. Diana Sweeney has published a number of papers in academic journals, but Flood Damage is her first novel.

Previous winners:
2012: Zac and Mia by A.J. Betts (due for release in August 2013)
2011: Fire in the Sea by Myke Bartlett
2010: The Bridge by Jane Higgins
2009: This Is Shyness by Leanne Hall
2008: The Billionaire’s Curse by Richard Newsome

The overall winner of this year’s prize will be announced on Wednesday, 29 May 2013. For more information about the prize, visit Text Publishing.