'The best books, reviewed with insight and charm, but without compromise.'
- author Jackie French

Thursday 6 February 2014

Review: My Naughty Little Sister Stories

Dorothy Edwards’ classic My Naughty Little Sister stories are likely to be remembered by readers of a certain age, and having previously been re-released as stand-alone titles, they are available again in a special box set. The entire series of five books is included: My Naughty Little Sister, More Naughty Little Sister Stories, My Naughty Little Sister and Bad Harry, When My Naughty Little Sister Was Good, and My Naughty Little Sister’s Friends.

What I found amazing in re-reading these stories as an adult, was the fact that throughout all five books, neither the naughty little sister’s name nor that of the narrator (the big sister) are ever mentioned. That takes a lot of skill.

The illustrations by Shirley Hughes match the stories as well as ever, and along with the large print and line spacing, make these great for children moving from picture books to chapter books.

Each book has about ten or so short stories, which helps young readers feel they are accomplishing something as they progress. Children will enjoy reading about the naughty little sister as she gets into all kinds of everyday mischief.

Title: My Naughty Little Sister Stories
Author: Dorothy Edwards
Illustrator: Shirley Hughes
Publisher: Hardie Grant Egmont, $14.95 RRP each book purchased individually (reviewed as a box set)
Publication Date: October 2013
Format: Paperback (box set)
ISBN: 9780603565991 (box set)
For ages: 5-9
Type: Junior Fiction