'The best books, reviewed with insight and charm, but without compromise.'
- author Jackie French

Saturday 1 October 2011

Dr Seuss - A Timeline

Theodor Seuss Geisel was born on 2 March 1904 in Springfield, Massachusets, USA. He was a Pisces.

In 1925, Theodore publishes his first cartoon in Jack-O-Lantern magazine, using the name 'Seuss'.

In 1926, Ted moves to England where he attends Oxford University. Here, he meets Helen Palmer.

In 1927, Ted marries Helen Palmer and moves to New York City.

In 1928, he writes his first advertisement  - 'Quick! Henry the Flit!' (Flit is a brand of insecticide)

In 1931, Ted's wife Helen learns she can't have children. Ted writes his first children's book - an ABC of fanciful creatures - but can't find a publisher.

In 1937, his first children's book And to Think That I Saw it on Mulberry Street, is published.

In 1938, in honour of his growing collection of hats, Ted's second book The 500 Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins is published.

In 1939, The King's Stilts is published by Random House (his first two books were published by Vanguard).

In 1940, Horton Hatches the Egg is published.

In 1941, Ted begins work as political cartoonist for the New York newspaper PM. He eventually publishes over 400 cartoons.

In 1943, he joins the army's Information and Education Division where he works with Chuck Jones and Fritz Freleng.

In 1947, McElligot's Pool is his first book since 1940, which earns him his first Caldecott Honor (awarded in 1948).

In 1948, Thidwick the Big-Hearted Moose is published.

In 1949, Ted and Helen move to California, to La Jolla (where they will live the rest of their lives). Bartholomew and the Oobleck is published and wins another Caldecott Honor.

In 1950, If I Ran the Zoo wins his third Caldecott.

In 1953, Scrambled Eggs Super is published.

In 1954, Horton Hears a Who is inspired by a trip to Japan.

In 1955, On Beyond Zebra! sees the invention of a new alphabet by Seuss.

In 1956 If I Ran the Circus is published. Gerald McBoing-Boing, an animated television adaptation of Ted's 1951 book, runs for three months.

In 1957, two legendary Seuss books are published - The Cat in the Hat and How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

In 1958, The Cat in the Hat Comes Back. This is the first book where Helen Geisel serves as a series editor. Yertle the Turtle is published.

In 1959, Happy Birthday to You! is published.

In 1960, Green Eggs and Ham is published after Seuss bets his publisher he can write a book using just 50 individual words. One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish becomes one of his top three sellers of all time.

In 1961, The Sneetches and Other Stories is published.

In 1962, Dr Seuss' Sleep Book is published.

In 1963, Dr Seuss's ABC is his third book with an alphabet theme. Hop on Pop is published.

In 1965, Fox in Socks is his first tongue-twister book. I Had Trouble in Getting to Solla Sollew is published.

In 1966, How the Grinch Stole Christmas makes it onscreen, produced by Chuck Jones.

In 1967, Helen Geisel dies. The Cat in the Hat Songbook is published but poor sales make it the only Seuss book to go out of print.

In 1968, The Foot Book is published. Ted marries Audrey Dimond.

In 1969, I Can Lick 30 Tigers Today! and Other Stories is published.

In 1970, Mr Brown Can Moo, Can You? is published.

In 1971, The Lorax is published.

In 1973, The Shape of Me and Other STuff is Seuss's only silhouette book. Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are? is published.

In 1974, Marvin K Mooney Will You Please Go Now! is published. Ted substitutes Richard M Nixon's name in the title and Art Buchwald publishes it in his column. Nixon resigns 10 days later. There's a Wocket in My Pocket is published.

In 1975, Oh, The Thinks You Can Think! is published.

In 1976, The Cat's Quizzer is published.

In 1978, I Can Read with my Eyes Shut! is published.

In 1979, Oh Say Can You Say? his second tongue-twister book.

In 1982, Hunches in Bunches is published.

In 1984, The Butter Battle Book is published. Ted wins the Pulitzer Prize for his body of work.

In 1986, You're Only Old Once! is published.

In 1990, Oh, The Places You'll Go! is published.

In 1991, Theodor Seuss Geisel dies on 24 September, at his home La Jolla. He was 87.

In 1991, two additional books were published based on his sketches and notes: Hooray for Diffendoofer Day! and Daisy-Head Mayzie.  

In 1996, My Many Colored Days, originally written in 1973, is posthumously published.

In 2000, Broadway Musical Seussville debuts, as well as feature length film How the Grinch Stole Christmas, starring Jim Carrey.

In 2003, feature film The Cat in the Hat starring Mike Myers is released.

In 2008, Horton Hears a Who, an animated feature film, is released to critical acclaim.

In September 2011, a collection entitled The Bippolo Seed and Other Lost Stories is published.