'The best books, reviewed with insight and charm, but without compromise.'
- author Jackie French

Tuesday 17 April 2012

Event: Maurice Saxby Lecture


Presented by Professor Robyn Ewing - Professor, Teacher Education and the Arts

Tuesday 1 May 2012 
6pm for 6.30pm

The Dixson Room, State Library of New South Wales 
(Refreshments will be served at 6pm)

The Maurice Saxby Lecture recognises the contribution made to the CBCA by Dr Maurice Saxby AM, especially as first National President, and his ongoing involvement and support over more than sixty years. 

He is one of the most significant people involved in the development of children’s literature in Australia, as a highly-respected lecturer, writer, reviewer and mentor. He is recognised internationally as an authority on children’s literature. 

In recognition of his achievements, Maurice was granted life membership of the CBCA NSW Branch, also a CBCA National Citation. Among his many other awards are the Nan Chauncy Award (2002), the Lady Cutler Award (1989), the Dromkeen Medal (1983), and, in 1995, Member in the Order of Australia (AM). 

The Maurice Saxby Lecture will continue the tradition of education about Australian children’s literature, established so brilliantly by Maurice Saxby. 

Bookings are essential. To book, and for more information, head to the CBCA website.