'The best books, reviewed with insight and charm, but without compromise.'
- author Jackie French

Thursday 2 January 2014

Review: Wild Born (Spirit Animals #1)

An amazing new fantasy adventure series that is linked to an online game, Spirit Animals promises a new experience for children and adult fans of the fantasy genre. Each of the six books in the series will have a different author, with three additional books due in 2014, and two more in 2015. Book 2: Hunted, written by Maggie Stiefvater, is due to be released in January.

Wild Born introduces the four main characters Connor, Abeke, Rollan and Meilin and the land of Erdas. Here, when children reach the age of eleven, commoners and nobles alike must attempt to call up their spirit animals. Not everyone can. But these four children of different social standing and situated in different parts of Erdas, succeed.

They must now learn to harness their spirit animals’ powers and use them for good. In this instance, their quest is to save the warring land of Erdas against its enemies.

The fast-paced story is full of adventure and excitement and kept me turning the pages.  I loved the resourceful child characters and the magical animals prepared to share their powers with their masters. With themes of courage, loyalty, friendship and challenges that parallel those of power struggles and revenge, this promises to be a terrific series for younger readers.

With extensive promotions and online games and information at the fantastic Spirit Animals website, it will surely be a success story in many ways.       

Title: Wild Born (Spirit Animals #1)
Author: Brandon Mull
Publisher: Scholastic, RRP $6.50 (Introductory Price)
Publication Date: October 2013
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781742839974
For ages: 8+
Type: Junior Fiction