'The best books, reviewed with insight and charm, but without compromise.'
- author Jackie French

Friday 21 March 2014

Review: Hunted (Spirit Animals #2)

Book 2 in the Spirit Animal series sees Devin, one of the ‘Marked Individuals’ that have bonded with their spirit animals but have been unable to call them up, turn to dark  methods in order to obtain spirit powers.  Devin becomes the choices he makes and is now a pawn of terror to be used by Zerif.

The four children, Meilin, Abeke, Conor, and Rollan haven’t fully mastered control of their Spirit Animals. In their quest to save Erdas, they join the tattooed Finn on a journey that demands loyalty, trust, sacrifice and unity, if they are to defeat the Devourer. But they are faced with new tests for they have left behind families that need them, and choices must be made.

This is a wonderful adventure that evolves as it progresses into something greater and deeper than first imagined. The multiple authors bring an individual element to each book. The conflicts and challenges faced by the children demand strength and maturity. We see this slowly emerging in each child as they grow stronger in mind and spirit. Simultaneously, something new is always being uncovered about the human condition and its tendency towards both good and evil.

The interactive site is highly informative and gives cause for deep reflection. It engages the reader/player and encourages them to examine themselves and others, just as the children in the book are forced to do.

Title: Hunted (Spirit Animals #2)
Author: Maggie Stiefvater   
Publisher: Scholastic Inc, $12.99 RRP
Publication Date: January 2014
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781742839998
For ages: 8-12
Type: Middle Fiction