'The best books, reviewed with insight and charm, but without compromise.'
- author Jackie French

Monday 29 December 2014

Review: My First Elmer Collection

If you haven’t met Elmer the patchwork elephant before, these four board books are a gentle introduction to the friendly pachyderm.

Elmer the elephant has had many adventures over the last twenty-five years. With his colourful patchwork body, Elmer introduces diversity and reminds readers that being different is okay.

The My First Elmer Collection is a set of four bright board books: Elmer’s Day, Elmer’s Friends, Elmer’s Colours, and Elmer’s Weather. They explore subjects like the different colours in our life (food, nature) and the different tasks we accomplish during our day (eating lunch, playing, having a bath, and going to bed). In learning about the weather Elmer watches cloud shapes and plays in the rain, enjoying the different experiences.

Best of all is Elmer’s Friends, where he tells each friend what is so special about them (Giraffe is the tallest, Kangaroo is the bounciest, and Owl the wisest). Each animal is special in their own way and they all love Elmer.

Elmer is a classic and little readers will love exploring the world with him.

Title: My First Elmer Collection
Author: David McKee
Illustrator: David McKee
Publisher: Andersen Press, $26.65 RRP
Publication Date: August 2014
Format: Board book
ISBN: 9781783441792
For ages: 0-4
Type: Picture book