'The best books, reviewed with insight and charm, but without compromise.'
- author Jackie French

Friday, 22 March 2019

Review: The Cow That Laid an Egg

In the vein of Emily Gravett's The Odd Egg, Andy Cutbill and Russell Atyo bring readers a funny and engaging story in, The Cow That Laid an Egg.

Marjorie felt very ordinary compared to the other cows, who can ride bikes and do cartwheels. Until the extraordinary happens. Marjorie laid an egg.

The other cows are not happy and they are very suspicious of the chickens' involvement,  'We don't think you laid that egg,'. Did Marjorie really lay the egg?


Readers are in for quite a surprise, when the egg hatches and reveals who the baby really belongs to.

Just like Atyo's character Henry, in Henry and the Yeti, Marjorie stands strong and has faith, even when other's doubt her and her self worth is low. Sometimes things seem impossible but in the end with patience and love, the result can be quite extraordinary.

Both Marjorie and Duck, from The Odd Egg, both cannot biologically lay an egg however they are both extraordinary parents. Readers will discover how much love and care the character has for their egg and their baby.

Cutbill's imaginative and hilarious story is supported by Atyo's mixed media illustrations, that are equally zany and full of emotion. The Cow That Laid an Egg is the type of story that shows how families of all kinds, can be extraordinary places of love.

Title: The Cow That Laid an Egg
Author: Andy Cutbill
Illustrator: Russell Ayto
Publisher: HarperCollins, $14.99
Publication Date: 1 July 2008
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780007179688
For ages: 2 - 7
Type: Picture Book


No comments:

Post a Comment

We value your comments, however, please note that all comments are moderated and need to be approved before publication, so spammers ... don't waste your time.