'The best books, reviewed with insight and charm, but without compromise.'
- author Jackie French

Saturday 27 December 2014

Shout Out: Dealing with Feelings series

A series of small picture books aimed at toddlers and preschoolers, the Dealing with Feelings books explore simple, familiar childhood experiences such as a new sibling, taking turns, making friends and feeling grumpy.

With brief text by Nicola Call and simple illustrations in bold colours by Sally Featherstone, the books highlight different emotions and situations that toddlers and young children will relate to, opening up opportunities for parents and carers to help children learn how to recognise their feelings and get along with others.

There are currently four books available in the series:
  • It’s My Turn
  • Sunita’s Baby Sister
  • Making Friends
  • Gregory’s Grumpy Day
At the end of each book there is a brief section for parents offering tips on how to use the book to help children understand the social skills and emotions featured in the story. These tips include suggestions for activities, games and conversations to help children draw parallels between the story and their own experiences.

These simple picture books are ideal for parents and carers looking for stories for young children that offer opportunities to easily discuss dealing with emotions and developing good social skills.

It's My Turn
Sunita's Baby Sister
Making Friends
Gregory's Grumpy Day
Author: Nicola Call
Illustrator: Sally Featherstone
Publisher: Featherstone Education, $12.99 RRP (each)
Publication Date: September 2014
Format: Hardcover
It's My Turn - 9781472907745
Sunita's Baby Sister - 9781472907769
Making Friends - 9781472907752
Gregory's Grumpy Day - 9781472907721
For ages: 2-5
Type: Picture Book