'The best books, reviewed with insight and charm, but without compromise.'
- author Jackie French

Monday 18 April 2016

CBCA Notables 2016 Book List

Today the Children’s Book Council of Australia announced their list of Notable Books for 2016. This list acts at the long list for the 2016 Children’s Book of the Year Award (with the short list announced at the CBCA Conference on 20 May and the winners and honour books announced on 19 August.

Books are judged in several categories (as listed below. We are thrilled to congratulate Kids’ Book Review founder Tania McCartney for her listing in the Eve Pownall Award for Information Books section with her book Australian Kids’ Through the Years (which was illustrated by Andrew Joyner and published by NLA Publishing.

We are fortunate to have many wonderfully talented authors and illustrators in Australia (with publishers producing a huge range of fantastic titles for children and teens. Congratulations to all of the authors (illustrators and publishers with books included in the Notables List for 2016. We don’t envy the judges as they deliberate to select the final winners from such an amazing selection of books.

Visit the CBCA website for more information about the Book of the Year Award. You can also keep up to date with CBCA announcements by following the CBCA Facebook page.

CBCA Notables 2016 

Book of the Year: Early Childhood

  • Alfie’s Lost Sharkie by Anna Walker by (Scholastic)
  • As Big As You by Sara Acton (Scholastic)
  • Bogtrotter by Margaret Wild and Judith Rossell (Walker Books)
  • Frog Finds a Place by Sally Morgan (Ezekiel Kwaymullina and Dub Leffler (Omnibus)
  • Hop Up! Wriggle Over! by Elizabeth Honey (Allen & Unwin)
  • I Need a Hug by Aaron Blabey (Scholastic)
  • I’m a Hungry Dinosaur by Janeen Brian and Ann James (Viking)
  • Meep by Andy Geppert (Tiny Owl Workshop)
  • Mr Huff by Anna Walker (Viking)
  • My Dog Bigsy by Alison Lester (Viking)
  • Ollie and the Wind by Ghosh Ronojoy (Random House)
  • Perfect by Danny Parker and Freya Blackwood (Little Hare)
  • Pig the Fibber by Aaron Blabey (Scholastic)
  • Piranhas Don’t Eat Bananas by Aaron Blabey (Scholastic)
  • Puddles are for Jumping by Kylie Dunstan (Windy Hollow)
  • Small and Big by Karen Collum (Windy Hollow)
  • The Cow Tripped over the Moon by Tony Wilson and Laura Wood (Scholastic)
  • The Very Noisy Bear by Nick Bland (Scholastic)
  • This and That by Mem Fox and Judy Horacek (Scholastic)
  • This is a Ball by Beck Stanton & Matt Stanton (ABC Books)
  • Thunderstorm Dancing by Katrina Germein and Judy Watson (Allen & Unwin)
  • Too Busy Sleeping by Zanni Louise and Anna Pignataro (Little Hare)
  • What Do You Wish For? by Jane Godwin and Anna Walker (Viking)

Picture Book of the Year

  • Adelaide’s Secret World by Elise Hurst (Allen & Unwin)
  • And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda by Eric Bogle and Bruce Whatley (Allen & Unwin)
  • Bob the Railway Dog by Corrine Fenton and Andrew McLean (Walker Books)
  • Eye to Eye by Graeme Base (Viking)
  • Flight by Nadia Wheatley and Armin Greder (Windy Hollow)
  • How the Sun got to Coco’s House by Bob Graham (Walker Books)
  • In the Evening by Edwina Wyatt and Gaye Chapman (Little Hare)
  • Lara of Newtown by Chris McKimmie (Allen & Unwin)
  • Mr Huff by Anna Walker (Viking)
  • My Dead Bunny by Sigi Cohen and James Foley (Walker Books)
  • My Gallipoli by Ruth Starke and Robert Hannaford (Working Title)
  • Numerical Street by Hilary Bell and Antonia Pesenti (NewSouth)
  • One Step at a Time by Jane Jolly and Sally Heinrich (MidnightSun)
  • Perfect by Danny Parker and Freya Blackwood (Little Hare)
  • Platypus by Sue Whiting and Mark Jackon (Walker Books)
  • Ride, Ricardo, Ride! by Phil Cummings and Shane Devries (Omnibus)
  • Suri’s Wall by Lucy Estela and Matt Ottley (Viking)
  • Teacup by Rebecca Young and Matt Ottley (Scholastic)
  • The Eagle Inside by Jack Manning-Bancroft and Bronwyn Bancroft (Little Hare)
  • What’s Up MuMu? by David Mackintosh (HarperCollins)
  • Where’s Jessie? by Brian Janeen and Anne Spudvilas (NLA Publishing)
  • Why I Love Footy by Michael Wagner and Tom Jellett (Viking)

Book of the Year: Younger Readers

  • 300 Minutes of Danger by Heath Jack (Scholastic)
  • Bella and the Wandering House by Meg McKinlay (Fremantle Press)
  • Bridget: A New Australian by James Moloney (Omnibus)
  • Helix and the Arrival by Damean Posner (Random House)
  • Molly and Pim and the Millions of Stars by Martine Murray (Text)
  • Run, Pip, Run by J C Jones (Allen & Unwin)
  • Shadows of the Master by Emily Rodda (Omnibus)
  • Sister Heart by Sally Morgan (Fremantle Press)
  • Soon by Morris Gleitzman (Viking)
  • The 65-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton (Pan)
  • The Cleo Stories: A Friend and a Pet by Libby Gleeson & Freya Blackwood (Allen & Unwin)
  • The Cut Out by Jack Heath (Allen & Unwin)
  • The Fourteenth Summer of Angus Jack by Jen Storer (ABC Books)
  • The Hush Treasure Book by various, Karen Tayleur (ed) (Allen & Unwin)

Book of the Year: Older Readers

  • A Small Madness by Dianne Touchell (Allen & Unwin)
  • Cloudwish by Fiona Wood (Pan Macmillan)
  • For the Forest of a Bird by Sue Saliba (Penguin)
  • Freedom Ride by Sue Lawson (Walker Books)
  • In the Skin of a Monster by Kathryn Barker (Allen & Unwin)
  • Inbetween Days by Vikki Wakefield (Text)
  • Newt’s Emerald by Garth Nix (Allen & Unwin)
  • One True Thing by Nicole Hayes (Woolshed Press)
  • Rich & Rare by various, Paul Collins (ed) (Ford Street)
  • Talk under Water by Kathryn Lomer (UQP)
  • The Beauty is in the Walking by James Moloney (HarperCollins)
  • The Flywheel by Erin Gough (Hardie Grant Egmont)
  • The Guy, The Girl, The Artist and His Ex by Gabrielle Williams (Allen & Unwin)
  • The Pause by John Larkin (Random House)
  • The River and the Book by Alison Croggon (Walker Books)
  • A Single Stone by Meg McKinlay (Walker Books)

Eva Pownall Award for Information Books